What is Milk/Dairy Intolerance?
If you have an intolerance (defined by YorkTest as a food-specific IgG reaction) to milk, your body reacts negatively to the dairy protein. This means that you should look to remove all animal milks, such as cow, sheep or goat, from your diet as the proteins are similar.
Milk Intolerance is different to Lactose Intolerance.
If you are experiencing intolerance to regular cow’s milk, you should also avoid lactose free milk. This is because your reaction involves the milk protein, not the milk sugar (lactose).
Where to look
There are many products which contain milk. Being aware of these is important when making changes to optimise your diet. The following list of ingredients should be avoided if you have milk intolerance:
- Milk (whole, semi skimmed, skimmed, UHT, condensed, powdered)
- Cream (single, double, soured, whipping, aerosol)
- Cheeses (hard, soft and spreadable)
- Butter and buttermilk
- Crème fraiche
- Fromage frais
- Ice cream
As an ingredient, milk is often given other names which can make it difficult to identify on product packaging so it’s a good idea to familiarise yourself with these. The following names are also used for milk and these ingredients should be avoided if you have milk intolerance:
Replacements for a balanced diet
- Coconut milk
- Rice milk
- Oat milk
- Sunflower or olive oil spreads
- Soya cheese
- Nut cheese
- Almond or hazelnut milk
- Hemp milk
- Soya milk